WASHINGTON – The Council for Accreditation of Education Preparation (CAEP) announced today that Noran Moffett has been re-elected Vice-Chair of the CAEP Accreditation Council and that Elizaeth Allen, Joan Johnson, and Lamikco Magee, have been selected to terms on the Executive Committee.  The CAEP Accreditation Council is the primary accreditation decision making body. Through the fall of 2020 the CAEP Accreditation Council has approved a total 341 providers under the CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards – rigorous, nationally recognized standards that were developed to ensure excellence in educator preparation.  


“These educators have been selected by their peers to help guide the Accreditation Council in its work to ensure high quality among CAEP accredited EPPs,” said CAEP President Christopher A. Koch. “They are passionate about education and ensuring that teachers, administrators and other school personnel are sufficiently prepared to ensure students of all backgrounds receive equal opportunity in the classroom.”  


The CAEP Accreditation Council meets twice a year to review and make decisions on the cases of educator preparation providers that are seeking accreditation under the CAEP standards. In addition, the Accreditation Council is responsible for reviewing the qualifications and appointing individuals to serve as volunteers in various roles of the accreditation process. The Executive Committee is responsible for making time-sensitive decisions on behalf of the Accreditation Council, as needed between meetings. It does not make or amend any accreditation decisions.


  • Noran Moffett is a tenured Professor of Education at Fayetteville State University. There, he works within the College of Education’s Department of Educational Leadership. Moffett previously served Fayetteville State as the Director of Research Initiatives and, formerly, as Associate Dean. His past educational leadership experience also includes his role as Associate Dean and Professor at Clark Atlanta University, where he coordinated his EPP’s accreditation process. 

  • Elizabeth (Beth) Allan is a Professor of Biology at the University of Central Oklahoma where she is the Coordinator of the Secondary Science Education Program. Allan is currently the President of the National Science Teaching Association (2020-2021).  She has been involved with CAEP as an Accreditation Councilor, a member of the SPA Standards Advisory Committee, and served on the 2021 CAEP Streamlining Standards Taskforce.

  • Joan B. Johnson currently serves as Executive Director of Accreditation and Licensure at Virginia Commonwealth University, where she is responsible for the accreditation of the Educator Preparation Program including CAEP and CACREP.  Previously she worked for the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) as the Director of Teacher Education.  In that role, she provided oversight of university preparation programs for school personnel, including implementation of state and federal regulations to ensure high-quality preparation of teachers, administrators, central office personnel, and other educators. Her past teaching and university administration include roles as Associate Dean and faculty at Norfolk State University, and also Department Chair and Coordinator of Assessment for Regent University.

  • Lamikco Magee is the Special Education Curriculum Leader for Amherst Regional Middle School in Massachusetts, a special education advocate, and a consultant specializing in equity and inclusion in public education. She is dual licensed in  Special Education and English Language Arts in Massachusetts and has been teaching for over 20 years.  Ms. Magee has a Master of Education degree in Moderate Disabilities and a Juris Doctor.  She is actively involved in the Massachusetts Teachers Association and the National Education Association, she is the president of her local union, and a United States Air Force veteran.

The terms for all of those recently elected begins July 1, 2021, and extends through June 30, 2023.  

CAEP is a nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation.


Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles:  


  1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and  
  2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer.  


If a provider fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a provider presents evidence that it meets the standard.  


The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (www.CAEPnet.org) advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.