For Immediate Release Contact: Matt Vanover
December 4, 2018


WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that 52 providers from 27 states and Puerto Rico have received accreditation for their educator preparation programs. The fall 2018 review by the CAEP Accreditation Council resulted in 52 newly-accredited EPPs, bringing the total to 196 providers approved under the CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards – rigorous, nationally recognized standards that were developed to ensure excellence in educator preparation programs.

“These providers meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Currently, more than 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards. 

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 

1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and 
2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer. 

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. 

“These providers should be very proud of the work they are doing. We’ve set a very high bar with our standards and receiving accreditation validates the hard work educator preparation providers are doing,” said Dr. Kim Walters-Parker, Chair of CAEP’s Accreditation Council. “Candidates in programs receiving CAEP Accreditation are investing in an education program that is designated as nationally accredited for educator preparation.”

The addition of 52 EPPs to those previously accredited brings the total number of CAEP-accredited providers to 196. These schools span across 40 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. 

The class of fall 2018 is listed below: 
Appalachian Bible College – West Virginia 
Baldwin Wallace University – Ohio 
Ball State University – Indiana 
Bethune-Cookman University – Florida 
Black Hills State University – South Dakota 
Boston College – Massachusetts 
Capella University – Minnesota 
Concordia College – New York 
Creighton University – Nebraska 
Dave & Elkins College – West Virginia 
Eastern Illinois University 
Hampton University – Virginia 
Hastings College – Nebraska 
Henderson State University – Arkansas 
John Brown University – Arkansas 
Lindsey Wilson College – Kentucky 
Louisiana State University at Alexandria 
Louisiana Tech University 
Manhattanville College – New York 
MidAmerica Nazarene University – Kansas 
Midwestern State University – Texas 
Missouri Baptist University 
Mount Saint Mary College – New York 
Northern Kentucky University 
North Greenville University – South Carolina 
Notre Dame College – Ohio 
Ohio Valley University – West Virginia 
Oklahoma Baptist University 
Plymouth State University – New Hampshire 
Roosevelt University – Illinois 
Sacred Heart University – Connecticut 
Southern Arkansas University 
Southern Nazarene University – Oklahoma 
Southwestern College – Kansas 
Spring Arbor University – Michigan 
SUNY Cortland – New York 
Tennessee Technological University 
Trine University – Indiana 
Universidad de Puerto Rico – Rio Piedras 
University of Alaska Fairbanks 
University of Bridgeport – Connecticut 
University of Missouri-Kansas City 
University of Nebraska Lincoln 
University of Nebraska at Kearney 
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
University of Saint Joseph – Connecticut 
University of South Carolina Upstate 
University of Utah 
Washburn University – Kansas 
Western Governors University – Utah 
Western Kentucky University 
Wilmington College – Ohio


The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.