Nov 20, 2019

WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that 59 providers from 24 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico earned accreditation for their educator preparation programs (EPPs). These providers join those previously accredited, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 281.


The CAEP Accreditation Council held its fall 2019 review this past October, during which 59 providers were approved under the rigorous, nationally recognized CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards.


“These providers meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”


CAEP is the sole nationally-recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards. 

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 

1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, 

2. and Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer.

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard.


Class of Fall 2019

Adrian College – Michigan

Alderson Broaddus University – West Virginia

Alma College – Michigan

Bard College – New York

Berea College – Kentucky

Bethany College – West Virginia

Bethel College – Kansas

Bluefield State College – West Virginia

Central State University – Ohio

College of Staten Island/CUNY – New York

Concordia University– Nebraska

Delaware State University

Doane University – Nebraska

Erskine College – South Carolina

Faulkner University – Alabama

Ferris State University – Michigan

Florida Gulf Coast University

Gardner-Webb University – North Carolina

Governors State University – Illinois

Grand Valley State University – Michigan

Hope College – Michigan

Illinois State University

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - Metropolitan Campus

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - Ponce

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - San German

iteachU.S. – Texas

Lake Superior State University – Michigan

Loyola Marymount University – California

Manchester University – Indiana

Medgar Evers College, CUNY – New York

Monmouth University – New Jersey

North Dakota State University

Ohio Northern University

Oklahoma City University

Purdue University – Indiana

Randolph-Macon College – Virginia

Rider University – New Jersey

South Carolina State University – South Carolina

The College of William and Mary – Virginia

The Pennsylvania State University

The University of Oklahoma

The University of Virginia’s College at Wise

Trinity Washington University – District of Columbia

University of Holy Cross – Louisiana

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

University of North Florida

University of Puerto Rico - Aguadilla

University of Utah

Urbana University – Ohio

Vincennes University – Indiana

Wayne State College – Nebraska

Wayne State University – Michigan

Wesley College – Delaware

West Liberty University – West Virginia

West Virginia University

Western New Mexico University

Wheeling University – West Virginia

Xavier University of Louisiana

York College/CUNY – New York



The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.