WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that 39 providers from 16 states, Puerto Rico and Jordan earned accreditation for their educator preparation programs (EPPs). These providers join those previously accredited in promoting excellence in educator preparation, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 462.

The CAEP Accreditation Council held its Fall 2021 review in October, during which 39 providers were approved under the rigorous, nationally recognized CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards.

“These providers meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is a nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 700 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards. 

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 

1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and 
2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer. 

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. The addition of these 39 EPPs to those previously accredited brings the total number of CAEP-accredited providers to 462. These schools span across 45 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Class of Fall 2021:

Appalachian State University—North Carolina

Austin Peay State University—Tennessee

Belmont University—Tennessee

Bloomfield College—New Jersey

Boyce College—Tennessee

California University of Pennsylvania

Cedarville University—Ohio

Centenary University—New Jersey

Clemson University—South Carolina

Concordia University—Michigan

Drexel University—Pennsylvania

Emory & Henry College—Virginia

Fairfield University—Connecticut

Framingham State University—Massachusetts

Furman University—South Carolina

Georgian Court University—New Jersey

God's Bible School & College—Ohio

Hanover College—Indiana

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Lehman College-CUNY—New York

LeMoyne-Owen College—Tennessee

Miles College—Alabama

Montclair State University—New Jersey

Northern State University—South Dakota

Pontificia Universidad Católica de Puerto Rico

Queen Rania Teacher Academy—Jordan

Quinnipiac University—Connecticut

Rutgers University—New Jersey

Southern Connecticut State University

State University of New York at Oswego

Stephen F. Austin State University—Texas

Texas Tech University

The Citadel The Military College of South Carolina

University of Kansas

University of North Georgia

University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo

University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Virginia Commonwealth University

Western Connecticut State University

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (www.CAEPnet.org) advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.