Nov 22, 2019

Loyola Marymount University First in California to Earn CAEP Accreditation

Loyola Marymount School of Education first in state to undergo rigorous accreditation process, demonstrating excellence in educator preparation


WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that Loyola Marymount University was one of 59 providers to earn accreditation for its educator preparation program (EPP). The accreditation of LMU marks the first CAEP-accredited institution in the state of California.


Loyola Marymount and the 58 other institutions join previously accredited providers in promoting excellence in educator preparation, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 281.


“Loyola Marymount University meets high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”


CAEP is the sole nationally-recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards.


“We are honored to be named the first institution in California to receive this recognition from the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation,” said Mary K. McCullough, Interim Dean of the School of Education at Loyola Marymount. “CAEP accreditation is a strong testament to our outstanding faculty and staff who are committed to academic excellence and ensure our candidates receive rigorous and high-quality programs designed to prepare them to make an impact in the field of education.”

“The CAEP accreditation process included rigorous, nationally recognized standards that challenged us to work collaboratively to identify, collect, and analyze data moving the LMU School of Education forward in a continuous improvement process,” McCullough added. 


“The Commission is committed to excellence in educator preparation and assures this through its accreditation system,” said Mary Vixie Sandy, Executive Director of the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.  “CAEP accreditation is voluntary in California, and I want to congratulate Loyola Marymount in achieving CAEP accreditation.”

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 


  1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and 
  2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer. 

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. 


Loyola Marymount joins 58 other providers to receive accreditation this spring, bringing the total number of CAEP-accredited providers to 281, across 44 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.



Adrian College – Michigan

Alderson Broaddus University – West Virginia

Alma College – Michigan

Bard College – New York

Berea College – Kentucky

Bethany College – West Virginia

Bethel College – Kansas

Bluefield State College – West Virginia

Central State University – Ohio

College of Staten Island/CUNY – New York

Concordia University– Nebraska

Delaware State University

Doane University – Nebraska

Erskine College – South Carolina

Faulkner University – Alabama

Ferris State University – Michigan

Florida Gulf Coast University

Gardner-Webb University – North Carolina

Governors State University – Illinois

Grand Valley State University – Michigan

Hope College – Michigan

Illinois State University

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - Metropolitan Campus

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - Ponce

Inter American University of Puerto Rico - San German

iteachU.S. – Texas

Lake Superior State University – Michigan

Loyola Marymount University – California

Manchester University – Indiana

Medgar Evers College, CUNY – New York

Monmouth University – New Jersey

North Dakota State University

Ohio Northern University

Oklahoma City University

Purdue University – Indiana

Randolph-Macon College – Virginia

Rider University – New Jersey

South Carolina State University – South Carolina

The College of William and Mary – Virginia

The Pennsylvania State University

The University of Oklahoma

The University of Virginia’s College at Wise

Trinity Washington University – District of Columbia

University of Holy Cross – Louisiana

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

University of North Florida

University of Puerto Rico - Aguadilla

University of Utah

Urbana University – Ohio

Vincennes University – Indiana

Wayne State College – Nebraska

Wayne State University – Michigan

Wesley College – Delaware

West Liberty University – West Virginia

West Virginia University

Western New Mexico University

Wheeling University – West Virginia

Xavier University of Louisiana

York College/CUNY – New York



The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.