FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Kaaryn Keller, Director of Communications
July 18, 2013 E-mail:

Inaugural Board of Directors Named for New National Accreditor

(WASHINGTON) The Interim Board of Directors for the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) recently named CAEP’s first Board of Directors, effective July 1, 2013. The CAEP Board of Directors will convene for the first time on August 29, when it will consider new accreditation standards proposed by the CAEP Commission on Standards and Performance Reporting this past June, as well as recommendations from the advisory nominating committee for committee slates.

“This is an unprecedented opportunity to truly shape CAEP as the new accrediting body for educator preparation through service on its first permanent board,” said James G. Cibulka, CAEP President. The CAEP Board of Directors is comprised of the following leaders from across the education spectrum:

Postsecondary Education: Mary M. Brabeck, Dean, The Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development, New York University; Barbara Cambridge, Director, Washington Office, National Council of Teachers of English; Francis "Skip" Fennell, Professor of Education, McDaniel College; Rick Ginsberg, Dean, School of Education, University of Kansas; Marquita Grenot-Scheyer, Dean, College of Education, California State University, Long Beach; Randy A. Hitz, Dean, Graduate School of Education, Portland State University; and Frank Murray, H. Rodney Sharp Professor, School of Education, University of Delaware

Practitioners/Employers/Policymakers: Christopher A. Koch, Superintendent of Education, Illinois State Board of Education; Linda S. Lane, Superintendent, Pittsburgh Public Schools; Janice H. Poda, Strategic Initiatives Director for Education Workforce, Council of Chief State School Officers; Cheryl Redfield, National Board Certified Teacher in English Language Arts, Highland Junior High School, Gilbert School District of Arizona; Dennis Van Roekel, President, National Education Association; Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers; and Blake West, Computer and Tech Integration Specialist, Blue Valley High School, Blue Valley School District of Kansas

Public/At-large: Mary C. Kenfield, PTA leader and Senior Education Policy Analyst and Senior Policy Coordinator, Washington State Legislature; Arthur Levine, President, The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation; Candace Olson, Board Member, Hillsborough County School Board of Florida

The Board of Directors will be responsible for making policy for CAEP; making appointments to committees and the Accreditation Council; reviewing the activities and organizational performance of CAEP and its affiliates, commissions, and Accreditation Council (but not individual accreditation decisions); and reviewing and approving CAEP’s annual budget and annual independent audits.

CAEP’s mission is to advance excellence in educator preparation through evidence‐based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P‐12 student learning. More than 900 educator preparation providers will initially participate in the CAEP accreditation system, which serves all providers currently accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). Educator preparation providers include traditional institutions of higher education, as well as alternative pathways such as residency programs.

For more information:

CAEP’s Board of Directors


The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.