WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that 42 providers from 23 states and the District of Columbia earned accreditation for their educator preparation programs (EPPs). These providers join 196 previously accredited providers in promoting excellence in educator preparation, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 238.

The CAEP Accreditation Council held its spring 2019 review last month, during which 42 providers were approved under the rigorous, nationally recognized CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards.


“These providers meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally-recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards. 

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 
1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and 
2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer. 

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. 

The addition of these 42 EPPs to those previously accredited brings the total number of CAEP-accredited providers to 238. These schools span across 43 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Class of Spring 2019

Alabama A&M University

American Museum of Natural History – NY

Brigham Young University – UT

Capital University – OH

Crowley’s Ridge College – AR

Dickinson State University – ND

Duke University – NC

Emporia State University – KS

Fairmont State University – WV

George Mason University – VA

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

James Madison University – VA

John Carroll University – OH

Longwood University – VA

Loyola University Chicago – IL

Marshall University – WV

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minot State University – ND

Morehead State University – KY

Mount St. Joseph University – OH

New York Institute of Technology

Northeastern State University – OK

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Nova Southeastern University – FL

Nyack College – NY

The Ohio State University

Ohio Wesleyan University

Purdue University Fort Wayne – IN

Queens College – NY

Shenandoah University – VA

Southeast Missouri State University

Spalding University – KY

University of the District of Columbia

University of Saint Mary – KS

University of the Ozarks – AR

University of Sioux Falls – SD

University of Virginia

Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

Walden University – MN

Wesley College – DE

West Virginia Wesleyan College

York College – NE



The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (www.CAEPnet.org) advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.