WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that 35 providers from 22 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico earned accreditation for their educator preparation programs (EPPs). These providers join those previously accredited in promoting excellence in educator preparation, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 471.

The CAEP Accreditation Council held its Spring 2022 review in May, during which 35 providers were approved under the rigorous, nationally recognized CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards.

“These providers meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is a nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 650 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards. 

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles: 

1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and 
2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer. 

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. The addition of EPPs receiving CAEP accreditation for the first time to those previously accredited brings the total number of CAEP-accredited providers to 471. These schools span across 45 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Class of Spring 2022:

Alabama State University

Athens State University—Alabama   

Auburn University—Alabama

Averett University—Virginia 

Brigham Young University—Utah      

Case Western Reserve University—Ohio

Delta State University--Mississippi

East Tennessee State University

Eastern Connecticut State University

Georgia College and State University

Greenville University—Illinois

Mary Baldwin University—Virginia

McPherson College—Kansas

Michigan State University

Middle Tennessee State University

Milligan University—Tennessee

Ohio University

Oral Roberts University—Oklahoma

Pfeiffer University—North Carolina

Salem University—West Virginia

State University of New York at Potsdam—New York

Taylor University—Indiana

The Catholic University of America—District of Columbia

Th University of Alabama at Birmingham

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

The University of West Alabama

Universidad Ana G. Medez-Recinto de Carolina—Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon

University of Pikeville—Kentucky

University of Southern California

University of Southern Maine

Webster University—Missouri

West Virginia University

Western Carolina University—North Carolina

Xavier University—Ohio

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (www.CAEPnet.org) advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.