For Immediate Release Contact: Matt Vanover
November 27, 2017


101 programs now meeting new, rigorous CAEP national accreditation standards to better prepare our teachers of tomorrow 

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that 43 providers from 22 states and the District of Columbia have received accreditation for their educator preparation programs. The fall 2017 review by the CAEP Accreditation Council increased to 101 the total number of providers approved under the CAEP teacher preparation standards—rigorous, nationally recognized standards that were developed to ensure excellence in educator preparation programs. 

“These institutions meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all institutions focused on educator preparation. Currently, more than 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards.

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles:

  1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and
  2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer.

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards or required components under the standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in less than two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. Providers, seeking first time accreditation, that do not meet one or more of the standards are denied accreditation.

"These providers should be very proud of the work they are doing. The profession has set a high bar with the CAEP Standards, and earning CAEP Accreditation validates the work educator preparation providers are doing to meet those standards,” said Dr. Kim Walters-Parker, Chair of CAEP’s Accreditation Council and high school teacher in Versailles, Kentucky. “Candidates in CAEP-accredited programs are investing in programs designated as nationally accredited for educator preparation.”

The 43 providers that received CAEP Accreditation in fall 2017 are joining the 58 providers previously accredited. Overall, 101 preparation providers from 33 states and the District of Columbia have received CAEP Accreditation.

The class of fall 2017 is listed below.

Angelo State University (TX)
Avila University (MO)
Baker University (KS)
Bard College (NY)
Christopher Newport University (VA)
College of Staten Island/CUNY (NY)
Dallas Baptist University (TX)
Fort Hays State University (KS)
Franciscan University of Steubenville (OH)
Friends University (KS)
Harris-Stowe State University (MO)
Howard University (DC)
Indiana University - Bloomington
Louisiana State University in Shreveport
Lyon College (AR)
Malone University (OH)
Montana State University-Billings (MT)
Niagara University (NY)
Northern Arizona University
Northern Michigan University
Ouachita Baptist University (AR)
Roosevelt University (IL)
Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Southern Adventist University (TN)
Southern University and A&M College (LA)
Tennessee State University
The University of Vermont
Thomas More College (KY)
University of Arkansas - Fort Smith (AR)
University of Charleston (WV)
University of Denver (CO)
University of Detroit Mercy (MI)
University of Florida
University of Holy Cross (LA)
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of North Texas
University of Saint Francis (IN)
Vanderbilt University (TN)
Washington and Lee University (VA)
Wayne State College (NE)
Wayne State University (MI)
Xavier University of Louisiana
Youngstown State University (OH)


The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.

Read a detailed list of the Fall 2017 decisions
View a roster of Accreditation Councilors present for the Fall 2017 decisions
Read more about accreditation statuses